Thanks to our Partnering Sponsors!

  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County
  • Leadership Hendricks County

Investing in leaders; strengthening our community

News Feeds:

Congratulations, Dr. Hoernemann, 2017 Suzanne Whicker Distinguished Service Award Winner

Leadership Hendricks County annually presents the Leader of the Year Award to a member of our community who leads by example, is a collaborator, a peace maker, and a visionary. The Leader of the Year selection committee, comprised of previous Leader of the Year Award recipients, may also consider candidates for the Suzanne Whicker Distinguished Service Award. Named for Leadership Hendricks County's first Executive Director, the Suzanne Whicker Distinguished Service Award criteria are similar to those for the Leader of the Year. Service Award winners must be servant leaders who bring out the best in others either within the scope of their employment or in the community as a whole.Leadership Hendricks County is proud to recognize Dr. Margaret Hoernemann, Superintendent for the Avon Community School Corporation, as the 2017 Suzanne Whicker Distinguished Service Award winner.

Dr. Hoernemann has spent her career educating students, and Avon was lucky enough to have her join its staff eighteen years ago as its first Director of Human Resources. She became the Superintendent of Avon Community School Corporation in March 2012 and was named Indiana Superintendent of the Year in 2016. Her focus on community collaboration to meet the needs of students has strengthened the educational experience for the nearly 10,000 students who attend Avon's schools every day. Our recipient's impact on the community goes far beyond the walls of Avon's schools. She is a member of St. Malachy Parish, an Avon Rotary Club member, Family Promise overnight host volunteer, and a member of the Avon Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors. We honor a leader who has served the community in more ways than can be counted and her dedication to student success will impact an entire generation of Avon's children. 

2018 SWDSA

2017 Suzanne Whicker Distinguished Service Award Winner, Dr. Margaret Hoernemann, with Leadership Hendricks County Executive Director, Kerry Tuttle


Congratulations to Our Leaders of the Year

At the Leadership Hendricks County Annual Meeting and Celebration of Leaders on February 15, Tim Whicker was presented with the 2017 Leader of the Year award. Tim Whicker is the founder of Electric Plus and is a graduate of the LHC Class of 1996. He also serves on the Hendricks County 4-H Fair Board, the Hendricks County Plan Commission, and the Mill Creek Community School Corporation Board of Trustees. 

Tim Whicker LOY

Dennis Dawes, 2000 Leader of the Year, presenting the award to Tim Whicker, 2017 Leader of the Year.


Makayla Schirmer was named the 2017 Youth Leader of the Year. Schirmer participated in the Youth Leadership Hendricks County program in 2015-16 and is an advanced study student at Marian University. Makayla will receive a $1,000 scholarship from Chick-fil-A of Avon, owned by Chris Tincher, graduate of the LHC class of 2013.

Makayla Schirmer 2017


Congratulations to the Leadership Hendricks County Class of 2018!


Julie Arnold, Hendricks Regional Health

Susan Bentley, Hendricks County Probation         

Julie Callis, The Shops at Perry Crossing         

Maggie Clifton, Indiana Association of United Ways

Sue Cox, Meals on Wheels of Hendricks County         

Sarah Craft, Kramer Companies         

Jodi Dickey, Town of Avon         

Jessica Elston, Plainfield Community School Corporation

Jeremy Enz, Indiana University Health West Hospital         

Daniel Farias, P3 Consulting         

Tarah Fettig, Corporation for National and Community Service         

Amanda Fulwider, North Salem State Bank

Chris Gearld, Hendricks Power Cooperative         

Jamie Hunt, Defense Finance and Accounting Service         

Katelyn Hurt, Hendricks County Economic Development Partnership

Cheryl Koch-Martinez, Indiana Legal Services         

Dimitri Kondas, Stericycle         

Bradley Kuhn, FISH Window Cleaning         

Jim Miller, Brownsburg Fire Territory

Frances Mock, Hendricks County Community Foundation         

Haley Roubicek, Duke Energy         

Tanya Shelburne, Health Ed Pros         

Scott Singleton, Town of Plainfield

Liza Taylor, Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy         

Joel Thacker, Plainfield Fire Territory         

Blake Uhler, State Bank of Lizton

Angel Wells, Mantooth Insurance Agency

Scott Wyndham, Avon Community School Corporation


<< Start < Prev 1 2 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 2
Our partnership with lets you get the things you need while giving back.
Place your order through the link below, and a percent will be donated to Leadership Hendricks County.

Leadership Hendricks County, Inc.
1900 East Main Street
PO Box 7
Danville IN 46122

Since 1993, Leadership Hendricks County has given citizens the background and inside information they need to take on effective leadership roles in the Hendricks County community. Each graduating class within the program has completed a Team Discovery project to address a current community need. Leadership Hendricks County, Inc. is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to seek, prepare, involve and sustain leaders from diverse backgrounds to address community and countywide changes.

Copyright ©2018 Leadership Hendricks County. Developed by NuMedia Marketing, Inc.